The best-laid plans…

DSC02428

Let me proudly present my contribution to #therefashioners2017: the coat dress. As soon as Portia had announced the theme of this year’s refashioners challenge, I found a linen suit at the local charity shop where I do volunteer work. It is cream-coloured with a white pinstripe which doesn’t really photograph well.

My original idea was to take it completely apart and turn it into a very simple shift dress, maybe using the hotsummerfreebie pattern which I cut for my purple linen dress. And because I felt that with a suit, there should also be a tie (I’m really surprised that none of the refashioners included ties so far), my plan was to use my collection of second-hand silk ties and make a kind of patchwork-y middle panel to make it a little more interesting.

IMG_1419

But a soon as I tried on the jacket, that plan was toast. I just couldn’t bring myself to take it apart because it felt so good with the wide shoulders and the lapels that were just the way I like them. So, like a true Tim Gunn follower, I decided to ditch the original concept and make it work. Since the trousers were a rather large but unfortunately too short palazzo pant, I had no qualms to cut off the legs to get 4 skirt panels. Then I cut the jacket to waist length, sewed the skirt panels together and basted them to the jacket, carefully matching the princess seams of the jacket with the darts I had to make for the skirt. The moment when I tried on the dress that this had become and found out that it was actually wearable was a great relief, because up to this point I wasn’t really sure if the skirt part would be wide enough to close properly in the front.

So the next steps were to sew the pockets back on – which I had salvadged from the cut-off part of the jacket – and line the skirt part. Of course this happened on the weekend and I didn’t have any proper lining material in the house. My solution was to use a piece of decoration textile (I have no idea why I ever bought this in the first place) with little fuzzy feathers on it. Wanna see?

IMG_1424 (002)

Next question: do I want to leave it open like a coat or close the skirt part to make it a dress? The answer was rather easy because my sewing machine doesn’t like to make buttonholes, so I sewed the skirt shut most of the way, leaving a slit at the bottom and roughly 12 centimetres at the waist so that I can get into it. While the upper two buttons are functional, the waist part is closed with a couple of metal snaps and the lower buttons are just sewn on for the effect.

But there was still the idea of adding the ties. First I thought of making a kind of shoulder panel like this:

IMG_1423

But I felt it would be a little contrived (I hear Tim Gunn, again) and I would not enjoy wearing the dress with it. Once I’ve got something in my head, though, it’s hard to get over it. So, as I always do, I consulted Pinterest with the keywords „necktie refashion“ and what I got was obi-style belts. And that’s what I did. I cut a piece of muslin-y cream cotton for the base, sewed two of my ties together and stitched them to the cotton. As soon as my husband (who had agreed to be my photographer for this special occasion so that I did not have to do my usual cellphone-in-front-of-mirror pictures) saw this, he started singing carnival songs because he thought that this was clearly entering costume territory. And to be honest, I think I will wear the dress rather with a wide leather belt than with my necktie obi, but since this was a suit challenge, I wanted to add the ties at least for my blog pictures. So here is the last one:

DSC02426

I’m really proud to be part of this challenge and to have been able to come up with a wearable garment. Now I have all the rest of October to look out for more contributions of other participants (isn’t it great that this is done world-wide?) and to wait for an occasion to wear my dress.

Also shown at Me-Made-Mittwoch.

Autor: Ulla

Immer auf der Suche nach kreativen Ideen

17 Kommentare zu „The best-laid plans…“

    1. Da bist du aber die erste, die das findet! ;o)
      Zu diesem Gürtel hab ich mir schon eine Menge anhören müssen. Er ist auch nicht so alltagstauglich, weil die Krawattenseide total flutscht und man nie weiß, wann sich die Schleife auflöst. Ein normaler Ledergürtel ist da bestimmt praktischer, aber ich wollte ja unbedingt das Thema „Anzug“ zu Tode reiten und meine Schlipse einsetzen. (Damit wissen die in der Kleiderkammer sowieso nicht wohin, weil unsere Gäste selten nach Krawatten suchen, also fische ich mir manchmal ein paar schöne Stücke raus.) Aber immerhin ist es ein in sich stimmiges Outfit, finde ich. Und für meine erste Näh-Challenge bin ich sehr zufrieden!

      Gefällt mir

  1. Dass Du das schöne Revers erhalten wolltest, kann ich sehr gut nachvollziehen. Das ist ein gutes Kleid geworden! Ich finde die Idee mit dem Krawattengürtel ganz interessant, aber wahrscheinlich ist ein Ledergürtel im Alltag einfacher zu kombinieren.
    Liebe Grüße, SaSa

    Gefällt mir

    1. Man kommt da wirklich in eine Zwickmühle. Der Wettbewerb schreit ja eigentlich danach, so einen Anzug komplett auseinanderzunehmen und etwas ganz Beeindruckendes daraus zu machen. Aber andererseits geht es auch darum, ein tragbares Kleidungsstück zu nähen, und dafür habe ich mich letzten Endes entschieden. Ich rechne sowieso nicht damit, dass ich etwas gewinne – dafür nehmen viel zu viele Leute teil, die mehr drauf haben als ich – aber ich bin, wie gesagt, schon stolz darauf, dass ich zum ersten Mal mit dabei bin, nachdem ich mir seit mehreren Jahren fasziniert angucke, wie kreativ die anderen sind! ;o)

      Gefällt mir

  2. Eine tolle Idee dieser Gürtel. Vor Jahren habe ich einen ganz ähnlichen gemacht. Damals habe ich ihn an den Seiten festgeheftet, so konnte ich verhindern, dass der Gürtel wandert. Ich finde, das ganze Kleid ist sehr stimmig und sieht klasse aus.
    Liebe Grüße Epilele

    Gefällt mir

    1. Das Problem ist hier nicht so sehr, dass der Gürtel wandert – dafür habe ich, wenn man genau hinguckt, erst mal einen naturfarbenen Baumwollstreifen zugrunde gelegt und die Krawatten darauf festgesteppt. Aber durch die weiche Seide ging schon beim Fotografieren immer die Schleife auf – keine Ahnung, wie ein Mann damit einen dauerhaft sitzenden Krawattenknoten hingekommt! Ich denke, mit einem anderen Stoff wäre das längst nicht so schwierig. Vom Prinzip her ist das schon eine gute Idee. Wenn ich mal ein ganz weiches Kunstleder finde, würde ich mir vielleicht noch mal so einen Gürtel in einer neutralen Farbe machen, den man über Strickkleidern tragen kann. Eigentlich braucht man nur einen breiten Streifen, der ungefähr so lang ist wie die eigene Taille, und dann ein schmaleres Band, das lang genug ist, um zweimal um die Taille gewickelt und dann noch gebunden zu werden.

      Gefällt mir

  3. Dein verwandelter Anzug und vor allem der Krawattengürtel gefallen mir sehr gut. Schade, dass sich die Schleife immer löst.
    Magst Du bitte noch einen backlink zum MMM setzen?
    LG Dodo vom MMM Team

    Gefällt mir

    1. Thank you! The tags inside said „Yessica“ which means that it was sold by C&A which is a fairly low-price chain in Germany. Being mostly linen (with a bit of cotton in the mix, I think), it wrinkles like crazy, though. (I just looked up your blog only to see that you know something about that, too.) I ironed it right before my husband took the photos and I didn’t dare to even bend over to pick up my shoes.

      Gefällt mir

  4. Ich finds toll! Vielleicht kann man am Gürtel (super Idee wie ich finde) noch irgendwas tricksen mit einem Knopf oder angenähten Schlaufe. Nachdem ich letztens in unserem Hausflur in einer Kiste entsorgter Klamotten ein graues Damenkostüm von Benetton gefischt habe, ist mein Plan, auch noch an der Challenge teilzunehmen. Mal sehen, ob ich die Zeit finde bevor sie rum ist.

    Gefällt mir

Kommentar verfassen

